Station Road, Wigston. LE18 2DS
0116 2881611


EYFS – Early Years Foundation Stage

We use the Early Years Foundation Stage framework (EYFS) 2012 to track and plan for children’s learning and development. There are seven areas of development which are:


1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

2. Physical Development

3. Communication and Language


1. Literacy

2. Mathematics

3. Understanding the World

4. Expressive Arts and Design

For further information visit

Learning Through Play

Young children learn through play, and this is the beginning of a lifelong learning experience. It is important that they are able to discover and achieve at their own pace and enjoy their chosen activities. We aim to create a safe, happy, warm and caring atmosphere with lots of stimulating activities for children. The indoor and outside environment have been planned to promote opportunities for children’s learning and development. Children are encouraged to be inquisitive learners through our low level storage areas. Staff engagement is an important element in modelling and extending children’s play experiences and through these enhancing children’s development and learning. The daily timetable incorporates a blend of free flow play experiences and adult planned learning activities.